Collecting, Preserving and Teaching  
LGBT History of San Diego  
About the Archives
Adopt A Box
Contact Us
Financial Support
History by the Numbers
LGBT Collections
LGBT Library
Links of Interest
Material Donations
Office Hours
Projects in Progress
Volunteer Opportunities
Archives Honorees
Wall of Honor
Search the Archives
2008: Heroes, Pioneers & Trailblazers
Ben Dillingham III
Delores Jacobs
Cleve Jones
Christine Kehoe
Klein & Reise
Stanley Lewis
Robert Lynn
Doug Moore
Teresa Oyos
Steve Padilla
Regina Reinhardt
Matt Stephens
Kevin Tilden
Ted Weathers
Bridget Wilson
Senator Christine Kehoe

photoChristine Kehoe was elected to the State Senate on Nov. 2, 2004 and re-elected on Nov. 4, 2008, Kehoe represents the 39th District. Prior to being elected to the Senate, Kehoe served two terms as a California State Assembly member representing the 76th District. During her first term in the State Assembly, Kehoe distinguished herself by becoming the second woman ever – and the first woman from San Diego – to be elected Assembly Speaker Pro Tempore, the Assembly’s second highest-ranking position. In her first year in the State Assembly, she carried the largest energy conservation bill package in the state’s history. Prior to being elected to serve California’s 76th Assembly District, Kehoe served seven years as the San Diego District 3 City Councilmember.

Kehoe was a pioneer activist in 1978 as a volunteer with the Center for Women’s Studies and Services. In 1980 she was San Diego County’s chair for the campaign to defeat the Lyndon LaRouche AIDS discrimination initiative. In 1984 she became editor of the award-winning San Diego Gayzette newspaper. She was an early director of the AIDS Assistance Fund, which grew into the San Diego AIDS Foundation. She served as the executive director of the Hillcrest Business Association, where she worked for small business owners to cut red tape and improve communication with city government.

Kehoe is a member of the Sierra Club, the National Organization for Women (NOW), National Women’s Political Caucus, Uptown Democratic Club, California Women in Government, the San Diego Democratic Club, and the Women’s Transportation Seminar. She is also a member of the board of directors of the California Elected Women’s Association for Education and Research (CEWAER).